nest hub max google face match

Google has released its smart home display Nest Hub Max recently. With the help of Face Match feature, the device is going to be your personal home assistant providing you with personalized reminders, recipes, and just helping you to keep track of your home while you are out.

Google Nest Hub Max has a feature of facial recognition called Face Match. It helps the device to understand who is using it at the moment to provide a better user experience. Such a feature frees you from a manual sign-in by using a face model. Based on it, the system provides you with personalized messages, appointments, and photos. Basically, it is watching you 24/7. This approach has caused many concerns about personal data security.

The thing is that this technology is always active. In other words, you don’t need to switch it on or use a voice command. Despite many questions about data security, Google state that they don’t use this data for commercial purposes.

According to the company, all the personal data is stored on the device. Though, from time to time the data is sent to the cloud “to improve the functionality of the device”. Google insists that all the data is deleted after it was processed. Nest Hub Max indicates with a green light when live feed is uploaded to the cloud. However, it doesn’t indicate when the data stored on the device is being uploaded.

How to avoid stalking?

Nevertheless, Google offers several ways how to protect yourself from being stalked. One of them is just simply don’t enable Face Match feature. In case if you already enabled it, you can delete the profile and it will switch off. Besides, you can use a physical switch on the back of Nest Hub Max to disable the hardware. But remember that the system will still store all the face profiles that you created.

In addition, many people wonder why the device doesn’t have a physical shutter. This would make it safer and more comfortable to use the device. Though, Google says that the physical switch on the back of the device is kind of a shutter. So, users have an option to decide either to be watched or not.